Skip to content

Of Superman and Spiderman

October 5, 2007
tags: , ,

I’ve been meaning to write for several days but was short of time and energy.

Let’s begin with a song.Again,Crash OST.Stereophonics – Maybe Tomorrow.

I’ve been down and
I’m wondering why
These little black clouds
Keep walking around
With me
With me

It wastes time
And I’d rather be high
Think I’ll walk me outside
And buy a rainbow smile
But be free
They’re all free

So maybe tomorrow
I’ll find my way home
So maybe tomorrow
I’ll find my way home

I look around at a beautiful life
Been the upperside of down
Been the inside of out
But we breathe
We breathe

I wanna breeze and an open mind
I wanna swim in the ocean
Wanna take my time for me
All me

So maybe tomorrow
I’ll find my way home
So maybe tomorrow
I’ll find my way home

So maybe tomorrow
I’ll find my way home
So maybe tomorrow
I’ll find my way home

So maybe tomorrow
I’ll find my way home
So maybe tomorrow
I’ll find my way home

Fits perfectly.

Hum rum barum….where should I begin?

Peter Parker is told: “With great power comes great responsibility.”

Clark Kent cannot lead a normal life because he is Superman.

What of humans,mortals, who have power, ability, willingness, a conscience, Superman aspirations?

What kind of life should those people lead?

There was this guy (let’s call him SOP). Sop is a pretty decent person. He helps out people whenever he can – and although some people take advantage of his inclinations, he doesn’t really mind. It’s worth it when he can make some people happy.

But there are so many people who are upset.

Should Sop try to help all of them out? Isn’t that very question wrong – for if Sop’s intentions are clear, then he shouldn’t even have to think about giving someone time. He shouldn’t even contemplate not calling and cheering John Doe up. It should be almost like a reflexive action, right? And it IS. Sop loves doing what he does. He feels that he gets rewarded. But he cannot deny that it takes a toll.

Again. So many people who are upset. Who takes up the responsibility of trying to help them out? Doesn’t Sop have the moral responsibility to try and help everyone? That, however, frequently leaves Sop with no time for himself.

What should Sop do?

People have told Sop to try and ‘balance things’. That seems so hard. Because all too frequently a sad face appears and then Sop focuses on that sad face. The impetus for his actions comes from inside – from a conscience, from a sense of responsibility…maybe he’s selfish. Because he gets rewarded so well that sometimes he’s not doing it for the sad face-he’s doing it for himself. Does that make sense? But he can’t decide…. Is he being selfish if he does it for the gratitude? Does he do it for the gratitude? Again…he doesn’t know.

I can understand how Sop is feeling. I have similar doubts about what I should be doing. Call it a shameless plug, but I am capable of a lot. I can do lots of things – make videos, write, talk to people, arrange stuff…but it takes time and willingness. I have the willingness to do things for a cause. But often I find I do not have the time to do everything I can. I’d like to help society in whatever way I can (yes, I know that’s horribly cliched and sounds corny, but hey, I’m being honest). I want to increase the range and frequencies of my activities. But then I’d never get to study and would never have time for people.

Then again…..a certain dear friend, currently abroad, helped me realize that I would be doing a disservice to myself, my potential, the community, and Allah (who has given me ability and willingness) if I stopped being an active member of society. Thank you, ao.

John Hancock Field said:

All worthwhile men have good thoughts, good ideas and good intentions–but precious few of them ever translate those into action.

Another corny confession – I have always wanted to be more than good – I want to be great, I want to be remembered. I want to be more than simply worthwhile. And that is the biggest problem I face. I want to be Superman, I CAN be Superman, but then I’d kill myself. How do I divide my time between people and society? I won’t be able to contribute properly if I give less than 100% attention to anything – but do I have the ability to give 100% attention to both? Why don’t I have the ability? Why are there only 24 hours in a day? Why do I have to divide my time? Why can’t I have more time? Why can’t I have more energy? Why do I get tired? Why do I feel selfish at times?

|I wanna breeze and an open mind
|I wanna swim in the ocean
|Wanna take my time for me
|All me

Am I allowed to feel this way?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

