Skip to content

We were young,we were strong….

May 10, 2009

Dedicated to the Class of 2009.

There are many songs that I could choose…and I may yet dedicate more. But I was listening to this yesterday and I just had to. It’s something we will understand better as we grow older – because we will relate to it. Let’s get back to this in a few decades ;)

Doubleday 1

And for now – let’s live to run and run to live.

Bob Seger – Against the Wind

It seems like yesterday
But it was long ago
Janey was lovely she was the queen of my nights
There in the darkness with the radio playing low
And the secrets that we shared
The mountains that we moved
Caught like a wildfire out of control
‘Til there was nothing left to burn and nothing left to prove
And I remember what she said to me
How she swore that it never would end
I remember how she held me oh so tight
Wish I didn’t know now what I didn’t know then

Against the wind
We were runnin’ against the wind
We were young and strong, we were runnin’
Against the wind

The years rolled slowly past
And I found myself alone
Surrounded by strangers I thought were my friends
I found myself further and further from my home
And I guess I lost my way
There were oh so many roads
I was living to run and running to live
Never worried about paying or even how much I owed
Moving eight miles a minute for months at a time
Breaking all of the rules that would bend
I began to find myself searching
Searching for shelter again and again

Against the wind
A little something against the wind
I found myself seeking shelter against the wind

Well those drifter’s days are past me now
I’ve got so much more to think about
Deadlines and commitments
What to leave in, what to leave out

Against the wind
I’m still runnin’ against the wind
I’m older now but still runnin’ against the wind
Well I’m older now and still runnin’
Against the wind
Against the wind
Against the wind

Still runnin’
I’m still runnin’ against the wind
I’m still runnin’
I’m still runnin’ against the wind
Still runnin’
Runnin’ against the wind
Runnin’ against the wind
See the young man run
Watch the young man run
Watch the young man runnin’
He’ll be runnin’ against the wind
Let the cowboys ride
Let the cowboys ride
They’ll be ridin’ against the wind
Against the wind …

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Samia permalink
    May 11, 2009 2:14 pm

    …..oldie song…..
    Wonder stuff. size of a cow

    Don’t you think it’s funny that nothing’s what it seems

    When you’re not looking forward?

    Me, I’d like to think life is like a drink

    And I’m hoping that it tastes like bourbon

    You know that I’ve been drunk a thousand times

    And these should be the best days of my life

    Life, it’s not what I thought it was

    Damn blast, look at my past

    I’m ripping up my feet over broken glass

    I said, Oh wow, look at me now

    I’m building up my problems to the size of a cow

    The size of a cow

    You know it would be strange to live life in a cage

    And only believe the things you see that are written on the page

    How easy would it be home in time for tea

    And stop feeling like a sailboat rocking on the sea

    You know that it’s been sunk a thousand times

    And these should be the best days of my life

    Life, it’s not what I thought it was

    Damn blast, look at my past

    I’m ripping up my feet over broken glass

    I said, Oh wow, look at me now

    I’m building up my problems to the size of a cow

    The size of a cow
    :)

  2. May 11, 2009 3:28 pm

    send me the song! i can’t find it online.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,727 other followers

